top of page

Welcome to Tall Tales

Read More
Home: Welcome
  • Writer's pictureTall Tale Teller

Children of the Ice

Rules for this one were had to be under 300 words, and be based on the line:


"It was February when the angels came"


_______________________________________________________


It was February when they came. I can’t tell you what year anymore. Time has robbed me of that memory, but it must have been some time in the 20’s.

The winter had been long, and we were all awaiting the return of spring with hope and expectation.

The Angels, if that is what they were, told us that the spring would never come. They said we should go with them. Go somewhere where warmth and food and shelter were no concern.

I said no.

It seems crazy that I chose this life, now that the truth of their words has become clear, but imagine if someone told you the sun would not rise tomorrow? Would you follow them, or dismiss them as mad? Millions interpreted this event as the Rapture. They believed that the Angels came at the behest of God, to take them to heaven.

I don’t know the truth of that. But I do know the truth of the world left behind, and it certainly felt like hell for many years as the billions that remained struggled and died in the cold and the dark. Those of us that survived tried to wash the taste of human flesh away with game and fish, and focused on the new generation that has started to emerge. Most of these children of the ice say they would leave if the Angels returned. Not me though. I have no desire to meet a God who would leave his subjects to the fate I suffered. I’ll stay here in the Hell that froze over.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Angel and Demon lose at cards

The Djinn put his cards on the table with a grin as wide as the Sahara. His eyes burned with satisfaction. Oriax gulped. The filthy lamp dweller had him. His only hope was the angel. If the angel had

Sonic the Hedgehog in a New York Traffic jam.

Another writing exercise. This one was random object, location and situation. I decided to make the object the character. 1000 words, based on : Sonic the hedgehog, New York and Traffic Jam --------

Dave, can you hear me Dave?

Another short one, after I found a half hour to write today. 300 words or under and had to start: The door hadn't been there yesterday. ____________________________________________ The door hadn't b

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: Subscribe

Contact

United Kingdom

Thanks for submitting!

Notebook and Pen
Home: Contact
bottom of page