top of page

Welcome to Tall Tales

Read More
Home: Welcome
  • Writer's pictureTall Tale Teller

Dave, can you hear me Dave?

Another short one, after I found a half hour to write today. 300 words or under and had to start: The door hadn't been there yesterday. ____________________________________________ The door hadn't been there yesterday. I'm almost sure of it. It's hard to keep things straight in my head. Maybe it was there but it was something else then. If it had been a door I’d have checked it and gone through it a thousand times. It’s been a long time. Long time. A long time since there was anyone behind any doors. Now it’s just me. Me and Sam and me.

LIFE SUPPORT OPTIMAL says Sam. It’s one of their favourite lines. Must be from a movie or something. I don’t feel very supported, Sam. Certainly not optimally. I feel… no. I must keep looking. Don’t want to open that box. That ends with Sam saying CREW INJURY DETECTED and MEDICAL UNIT TO CREW QUARTERS and me having to do lots of questionnaires before I’m allowed out of sickbay.

No, I must keep looking behind the doors. But this door is new. Maybe this is what I’ve been looking for? It’s larger and looks sturdy. I can’t open it, and Sam won’t help, so it takes me a long time to find the OVERRIDE controls and make them ride over whatever was stopping me. Maybe Sam? I’m starting to think they are against me.

On the other side of the door is another door. Ha! Like Russian dolls, although this one is bigger if anything. So not like dolls. But doors.

This one’s easier to open, with a big button to push, but it doesn’t work until I figure out the first door needs to close behind me.

The alarm is noisy and Sam says AIRLOCK OVERRIDE DETECTED. That’s a relief, now I remember! The door was always there, I just used to call it an ‘airlock’. I was worried I was losing it there for a minute.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Angel and Demon lose at cards

The Djinn put his cards on the table with a grin as wide as the Sahara. His eyes burned with satisfaction. Oriax gulped. The filthy lamp dweller had him. His only hope was the angel. If the angel had

Sonic the Hedgehog in a New York Traffic jam.

Another writing exercise. This one was random object, location and situation. I decided to make the object the character. 1000 words, based on : Sonic the hedgehog, New York and Traffic Jam --------

Children of the Ice

Rules for this one were had to be under 300 words, and be based on the line: "It was February when the angels came" _______________________________________________________ It was February when they ca

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: Subscribe

Contact

United Kingdom

Thanks for submitting!

Notebook and Pen
Home: Contact
bottom of page