top of page

Welcome to Tall Tales

Read More
Home: Welcome
  • Writer's pictureTall Tale Teller

"I'm glad no one can read my thoughts..." I thought to myself while travelling in a crowded train

Are you sure about that? I heard inside my head.

“What?”, I said out loud, instinctively, before I caught up with my thoughts enough to realise no-one had said a thing. A man opposite me looked up from his phone and frowned, before deciding I looked like a harmless crazy, and went back to whatever was capturing his attention on his screen.

I said, well, thought I suppose, ‘are you sure about that?”

Sure about what? I thought, tentatively

Sure about the idea that you are glad no-one can hear your thoughts.

I looked around again, trying to find someone who was holding their fingers to their temples or something, or looked like James McAvoy.

You can hear my thoughts? I asked internally.

Well obviously. But that isn’t the question I was asking. I was asking if you are really glad no-one can hear them.

Am I going mad? I noticed a beautiful smile on a face I hadn’t noticed, facing away from me a couple of rows down, and I knew they were smiling at me.

No, you’re not mad. I could almost hear the smile in my mind, but I felt that this might be suggestion. I am reading your mind. But that’s not the really interesting part.

Not the really interesting part? It's pretty fucking interesting to me, it's my mind!

The smile again. Sorry of course, your mind is very interesting. But I read minds all the time. The really interesting thing is that you can read mine back. I can’t read minds!

OK well, explain how we are conversing without saying anything or facing each other or even being near each other? Can you explain that?

I thought about this for a time. Then realised that they were probably listening. Then I thought something rude about people who eavesdrop. There was a single snatched laugh from further down the carriage.

No, I thought more directly, I can’t explain any of this. So, should I be? Should you be what?

Should I be glad someone can hear my thoughts, I thought.

Ah, finally, we are back to the real question. I can’t tell you what to think, but I know I am. I thought I was the only one left.

Can’t tell me what to think? Was that on purpose?

I don’t know, came the 'smiling' reply. You tell me.

I tried, but there was nothing.

I can’t? I thought.

No, I can’t see more deeply either. Surface thoughts only. That’s normally plenty, most peoples internal monologue is running 24/7. I just wondered if it would be different with someone who could read as well.

Normally? I’ve never done this before! I thought.

Oh, now I understand! I was worried you were just odd, with the reaction. I can hear everyone. You are clearer than most, but this is normal for me.

The train announcer called out our impending arrival at my station.

Shit, I thought. This is me. Look… or listen. Or… whatever you do with your ESP. Would you let me buy you a cup of coffee?

I looked up and saw them nod.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Angel and Demon lose at cards

The Djinn put his cards on the table with a grin as wide as the Sahara. His eyes burned with satisfaction. Oriax gulped. The filthy lamp dweller had him. His only hope was the angel. If the angel had

Sonic the Hedgehog in a New York Traffic jam.

Another writing exercise. This one was random object, location and situation. I decided to make the object the character. 1000 words, based on : Sonic the hedgehog, New York and Traffic Jam --------

Dave, can you hear me Dave?

Another short one, after I found a half hour to write today. 300 words or under and had to start: The door hadn't been there yesterday. ____________________________________________ The door hadn't b

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: Subscribe

Contact

United Kingdom

Thanks for submitting!

Notebook and Pen
Home: Contact
bottom of page