top of page

Welcome to Tall Tales

Read More
Home: Welcome
  • Writer's pictureTall Tale Teller

Retirement

The call came at midnight. I expected that because it had been the same way for 22 long years. I didn’t expect an unfamiliar voice on the other end of the line.

“Hello? Detective Monson?”, it said as I picked up the phone. The connection was scratchy and the audio over compressed from several layers of rerouting and disguise that I knew was between me and the caller.

“The fuck are you?” I asked.

“Um, he said not to answer that.”

“Who said not to answer?”

“He said that you’d know.”

I took a long breath, and a short drink of the whiskey I allowed myself on the night he called me every year. Waiting by the phone for 12:00 to blink up on the clock, and start the anniversary of my greatest professional failure with an annual reminder from the killer that escaped me.

“OK”, I said. “So what, then?”

“He said to tell you that he knows you are still looking. But that you won’t be able to find him.”

I sighed. A new wrinkle, but the same taunt.

“He said that you won’t find him because he is dead. He gave me this message to read to you when he passed. He said it had to be this day, at this time.”

I laughed sardonically. “Well, that’s very kind of him to let me know.”

The line was silent.

“Anything else?” I asked.

“No. That’s it. Enjoy your retirement, Detective.”

There was a click as the call ended. I looked at the newly opened bottle of Bushmills. I wouldn’t be stopping at one glass tonight.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Angel and Demon lose at cards

The Djinn put his cards on the table with a grin as wide as the Sahara. His eyes burned with satisfaction. Oriax gulped. The filthy lamp dweller had him. His only hope was the angel. If the angel had

Sonic the Hedgehog in a New York Traffic jam.

Another writing exercise. This one was random object, location and situation. I decided to make the object the character. 1000 words, based on : Sonic the hedgehog, New York and Traffic Jam --------

Dave, can you hear me Dave?

Another short one, after I found a half hour to write today. 300 words or under and had to start: The door hadn't been there yesterday. ____________________________________________ The door hadn't b

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: Subscribe

Contact

United Kingdom

Thanks for submitting!

Notebook and Pen
Home: Contact
bottom of page