top of page

Welcome to Tall Tales

Read More
Home: Welcome
  • Writer's pictureTall Tale Teller

The Mariner - Part 3 - Secrets

Part 3 of the serial I'm writing based on a prompt each week. I don't know what the theme will be, so I have to roll with it a bit! Part 1 and Part 2


Trik was awoken by a savage headache. Without opening his eyes and giving away the fact that he was conscious, he tried to move and realised that he was restrained. He was surprisingly calm about that fact, but this wasn’t the first time he had woken up tied to something or other. Ideally, it would not be the last.

With a few subtle shifts of his limbs, he tested his boundaries. The restraints were improvised, not professional. He could definitely slip them if he was alone and he had a bit of time. He kept his eyes closed and listened. His best chance of being left alone was not to give away that he was awake.

“Morning Trik”, said Lei from next to him.

Trik sighed and opened his eyes. Lei was perched on a crashcouch, looking worried. He appeared to be held into another couch, just with some jerry rigged straps. He kept silent and looked around the cabin. Lei had been working in here, that much was clear. The ancient bones of the ship were much more visible here. She must have removed some mods and camouflage. There was no way it could have looked like this before, any idiot could tell this ship was dangerous, looking like this.

“You’re on the ship”, said Lei redundantly.

“Yes, thank you for that gem of insight, Lei”, replied Trik testily. “Don’t mistake my lack of words for lack of understanding.”

“I stunnered you”, Lei continued.

“Really, Lei? You don’t say. The throbbing in my head gave that away. Although I have to say it is a touch more sharp pain than I’m used to from a Stunner flash. I suppose I hit my head on the floor, did I?”

Lei tried to look positive.

“Great”, said Trik through a forced smile. “Is it bad? And try not to wince.”

“It's not...too bad”, Lei ventured.

“You, young lady, can expect a bill from my plastic surgeon then. I don’t intend to live with a scar for another 100 years that reminds me about how I got jumped by a dockrat.”

Lei looked at the personal laser she’d taken from Trik, turning it over in her hands. Not to be threatening, she was just admiring the craftsmanship of it.

“Thanks, by the way”, Trik added.

Lei looked up with a frown. “Thanks?”

“Yes. I let my shock override my logic. Getting off the ship and facing the Guild would have been risky. They might just decide to clean house. No, staying on board was a good call. I have some...countermeasures on the station. As far as anyone on Eliad is concerned I am still on the station, moving around, living my life. This gives me time to get a plan in place to distance myself from you. No offence.”

“You’re full of secrets, aren’t you”, Lei said. “You’ve hacked Eliad Station biometric security?”

“Well, sometimes I need to be documented to not be in a place where something illegal may have happened.”

Lei looked at the laser again. “How illegal?”

“Well, a lot less illegal than your exploits! Do you mind being careful with that pistol? It’s really quite old. Not as ancient as this ship, of course, but it’s important to me. If you must threaten me, can you do it with something less precious?”

“It’s beautiful”, said Lei. “And I’m not trying to be threatening. I’m not really in a position to even if I wanted to. I’m not in charge here.”

Trik nodded at the straps. “Well then?”

Lei untied her fellow kidnappee and handed back his pistol slowly.

Trik stood up and hefted the pistol curiously. “The power cell?”

“Yeah, I’m not that confident. You don’t need it, and the cell was just a crappy off-brand one. It’s not precious.”

He nodded. “Fair. Now, to work!” Trik cracked his knuckles, raised his eyebrows at Lei, as if waiting for her to jump into action.

“What work?”

“Well, connecting up that speech interface to start with.”

Lei was starting to get a headache to match his. “But you said th--”

“I know what I said. I would prefer not to be more connected to this timebomb, but that ship has very literally sailed off, with me in it. I think that it would very useful to find out who this ship is, and what its plans are for us.” Trik pulled a replacement power cell for the laser from a surgically implanted compartment in his forearm and reloaded the pistol. Lei gaped.

“Like you said. Secrets”, Trik said with a smile. He wasn’t even trying to hide his enjoyment of Lei’s surprise. He liked being the one driving the agenda, putting others off balance. Especially when a few short moments ago, he’d been unconscious, tied up, and being held at gunpoint.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Angel and Demon lose at cards

The Djinn put his cards on the table with a grin as wide as the Sahara. His eyes burned with satisfaction. Oriax gulped. The filthy lamp dweller had him. His only hope was the angel. If the angel had

Sonic the Hedgehog in a New York Traffic jam.

Another writing exercise. This one was random object, location and situation. I decided to make the object the character. 1000 words, based on : Sonic the hedgehog, New York and Traffic Jam --------

Dave, can you hear me Dave?

Another short one, after I found a half hour to write today. 300 words or under and had to start: The door hadn't been there yesterday. ____________________________________________ The door hadn't b

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: Subscribe

Contact

United Kingdom

Thanks for submitting!

Notebook and Pen
Home: Contact
bottom of page